How many of you can’t stand the idea of stepping foot into the gym? Same.  Waiting for machines, weird dudes checking you out, the grunts, the smells, etc. Sometimes it’s the last place I want to be. You don’t need to step foot inside a gym to lose weight, get fit, or transform your life. Let me explain.

Funny enough, I used to ALWAYS have a gym membership and that was the only place I would workout aside from an outdoor run (which, let’s be real, I wasn’t doing very often a few years ago). Well that all changed once I moved to California. It wasn’t that I didn’t want a gym membership, it was that I could not afford even the cheapest gyms out here. Going without a gym membership ended up being one of the best things for me. I lost the bulk of my weight during that time. Whatever the reason is your not a gym member – cost, location, anxiety, whatever it is – you have options.

How? How did I lose 45 lbs without stepping into a gym?

I got a pair of dumbbells, downloaded some fitness apps, found a park near my apartment, and set aside time everyday to get there and get it done. I would do high intensity workouts with light strength training for about 30-45 minutes 5x a week. Can’t get your hands on a pair of dumbbells or any other equipment? No worries. You can still get results simply using what you have – your bodyweight. Later this week, I will post a blog providing my favorite bodyweight exercises.

So, for those of you who can’t get in the gym – Go get a pair of dumbbells, download some fitness apps, hop on pinterest or youtube for workouts, find time,  find some open space, and get to it. You can workout in a park close to home or your yard if you’re lucky enough to have one (boo). You can workout anywhere in your home with a little bit of open space. Apps such as Nike Training Club, 7 Minutes Workout, RUNNING for weight loss, My Fitness Pal, and many more (another blog post coming soon on fitness apps!) can help you reach those goals and stay out of the gym.

IMG_2262

To start try and do three 30-45 minute high intensity workouts a week. Get your heart rate up and P-U-S-H yourself. If you’re up for it try to incorporate interval runs 2-3x a week – switching off between intervals of running, walking, and sprinting. If you’re new to running – do what you can. Work yourself up to those sprints. Most important – stretch, stretch, stretch. Don’t skip your stretching. Stretching prevents injuries and helps speed up recovery. Throwing yoga into your week will help you to stretch and recharge. You can do it at home or go to a yoga studio – whatever you prefer! I like to do yoga at home – I just youtube what I’m feeling that day and get to it.

Just remember, the hardest part is starting. Once you’ve found your groove , you won’t be able to stop. Make the effort to make YOURSELF an everyday priority. Those 30-45 minutes a day will make a world of difference. It doesn’t happen over night and you have to be consistent. Message me if you ever need that extra motivation, encouragement,  or have any questions! We’re in this together.

Leave a Reply

